SEQHNuclear Project Economics Engine Founding seat

Methodology

Version 1.0, October 2026. How inputs are sourced, labeled and turned into project economics.

Data as of Oct 7, 2026

1. Sources

An input is marked sourced only when it appears in a document the project's owners, lenders or regulators published. Press coverage can flag a number, but the number stays out of the model until a primary document confirms it.

Each sourced input stores the document link and the date it was checked. If the document changes, the input, the date and the change log are updated together.

Documents used

  • NRC dockets, permits, licenses and environmental reviews
  • DOE Loan Programs Office and Federal Financing Bank terms
  • State utility commission filings and orders
  • SEC filings and company releases
  • EIA operating data

2. Input tiers

Examples from the Palisades model

TierRuleExampleValue
SourcedStated in a primary documentDOE loan rate, FFB Treasuries + 0.375%4.55%
SourcedPublished operating dataU.S. fleet capacity factor, EIA91%
SEQH estimateNot disclosed; set by a stated method with a rangePPA price$65 ($56–76)
Secondary, heldReported in the press only; kept out of the modelNone in Palisades today—

3. Ranges

Every estimate carries a P10, P50 and P90. Costs and prices use a log-normal: they can't go below zero, and overruns run larger than underruns.

P10, P90 = median × e^(±1.2816σ)

Capacity factor uses a beta distribution, bounded between 0 and 100% and skewed toward the high end, as a well-run fleet is.

$40$50$60$70$80$90$100P10 56P50 65P90 76
Palisades PPA price, SEQH estimate, $/MWh. Log-normal, median 65, σ = 0.122. Shaded: P10–P90.

4. Undisclosed contract prices

Most nuclear offtake deals don't publish a price. The Engine estimates one with a bargaining model. The seller's floor is what the power earns without the contract. The buyer's ceiling is its next-best source of firm, clean power. The price lands between them according to leverage, β.

price = floor + β × (ceiling − floor)

5. Cost of capital

Cash flows are discounted at a weighted average cost of capital from the project's own financing. Where a federal loan sets the cost of debt, the loan's stated rate is used. Base case 7%, tested from 6% to 9%.

WACC = E/V × Re + D/V × Rd × (1 − t)

6. Limits

The Engine does not issue ratings, buy or sell calls, or price targets, and it does not fill gaps with invented data. Anything not disclosed is labeled as an estimate, with its method and range shown.

Founding membership: 20 seats.

Founding members pay $99 a month, held for their first 12 months, and get in on Oct 30, two days before launch. From Nov 1 the price is $150.

20 founding seats · offered in order of request